« Go back

Reviews of The Castle Esplanade Residence

independently rated: 100%The percentage of all customers leaving a review on Feefo.com who rated the product either 'good' or 'excellent' based on 22 user reviews of The Castle Esplanade Residence
10 Nov 2017

Service:

Smooth and easy service throughout

Product:

Perfect location at the top of the Royal Mile, overlooking the Grassmarket. The views of the castle from every window in every room are unbelievable. The castle is right there in front of you filling up the whole window and at night with the castle lit up its hard to imagine any better views in the city. Charming property full of character with everything needed for your stay. Very quiet but close to all the cafes, bars and restaurants as well as most of the historical sites. Couldn’t have asked for a better place to stay and the flat made our holiday. If your going to Edinburgh this is THE place to stay, we loved it – wish we could live here!!!

review via Feefo.com

15 Aug 2016

Service:

This is the second year we have booked through Reserve Apartments and the service was again excellent.

Product:

Beautiful apartment and a fantastic location. My only gripe is the lack of recycling facilities - all rubbish goes into landfill due to a lack of separate containers or street bins. We noticed there were bins for glass opposite the apartment and took our bottles, to find that the bins were locked and could only be used by residents with keys.

review via Feefo.com

23 Jul 2016

Lovely apartment perfect location David our host was friendly and gave us info we needed... And thanks for helping with our luggage ❤️

review via Feefo.com

23 May 2016

Service:

The reservation service, slection and Apt manager who greeted us was great.

Product:

This rental is situated in the perfect location at the base of the Castle. It was even better than the photos as they were just beginning the erection of the stadium for the tatto so we had almost a completely unobstructed view. We knew the stairs would be a challenge and they were slightly worse than expected (steep and narrow and cicular) but that was not something that can be changed. The apartment is nicely decorated and equipped.

Several things did disappoint. The level of cleanliness and the uncomfortable poor quality of the twin mattresses (put together to make a King) The springs were poking and it was difficult to fins a comfortable spot. They should be replaced...and yes I understand the challenges in doing so. I almost gave it a poor rating on that account. Also this apartment is in need of some deep and thorough cleaning...from slip covers on couch to accumulated dirt and grime in laundry and small water closet. Also some paint touch up here and there. In all other ways it was excellent.

I would very much like to know that these issues will be addressed for the next travellers. It will make it easier to leave a good review on other websites like Travel Advisor.

Our response

Thank you for your feedback - we take all guest comments very seriously as they help us to maintain our high standards and consistently improve the service we offer.

We're delighted that you found the location of the property to be perfect for you and that the property was well decorated and equipped with everything you needed for a great stay.

We offer our most sincere apologies in regards to the cleanliness of the property, and we are disappointed to hear that the beds were uncomfortable. We have passed on your comments to the property manager so that any issues can be rectified immediately.

All the best - Hannah

Hannah - Reserve Apartments

review via Feefo.com

27 Apr 2016

Service:

Service was excellent .

Product:

Settee was dirty and toilet smaller than promoted in pictures. However the views and position of the apartment were fab! Would stay again.

review via Feefo.com

09 Apr 2016

Service:

Great communication throughout booking service.

Product:

We loved the location, a great spot to explore the Royal Mile and Grassmarket and we could have spent hours just gazing out the windows!!
We also loved the decor of the flat but feel it's in need of some TLC, like other reviewers the grubbiness of the sofa covering didn't sit well with the spotlessness of the rest of the flat - unlike other reviewers we found it very clean, just the sofa covering let it down. Quite a few lightbulbs were out which gave the flat a slightly unloved feeling, which clearly it isn't! There may be one but we couldn't find a chopping board - great knives, which is unusual when renting a property - but no board which meant we didn't prepare much food but ate out a lot. Also, only half of the toaster was working which was a bit of a pain but easily remedied.
The flat suited our needs, it was comfortable, clean and ideally situated, with some TLC it would be perfect.

review via Feefo.com

06 Apr 2016

Service:

Booked over the phone - friendly and helpful staff. Apartment manager met us with the keys and carried our very heavy suitcase up 82 steps - fab! Communicated with him by text and he responded very promptly.

Product:

Fabulous location, nice sized apartment. Two issues need addressing: New cleaners needed - balls of dust and general grubbiness unacceptable. Was prepared for this from reading reviews but assumed it would have been sorted. Shower was dreadful; looks great but produced a dribble of water that went from freezing to scalding for no reason - very disappointing.

review via Feefo.com

26 Feb 2016

Service:

Quick, efficient and professional.

Product:

Amazing views, stunning gothic apartment with lots of character

review via Feefo.com

20 Feb 2016

Service:

Thank you

Product:

Excellent location! The apartment needs some tlc, sofa is very dirty, bathroom sink in toilet area needs repair. Just some small odds and ends

review via Feefo.com

10 Dec 2015

Service:

David was ready and waiting - was able to answer our questions and even carried my case up the mountain of stairs.

Product:

An interesting apartment and superb location if you want to be on the top of the Royal Mile and are able. A flight too many steps for us! A full length mirror would be good. The socket next to the mirror in the study was the only place, next to a mirror - to use hair dryer, but socket did not work. Could do with a hook to hang towels in bathroom! Otherwise very good - well equipped!

review via Feefo.com

24 Sep 2015

Service:

Was met at the apartment by David and given the guided tour. All very efficient

Product:

The apartment is in a great location just off the royal mile. Really good base for exploring the local area

review via Feefo.com

17 Jun 2015

Service:

We couldn't fault the service received in the booking of the apartment for our holiday

Product:

The apartment was amazing especially the location and the view! The steps were interesting and exhausting but also gave us a few laughs.....and a trimmer waistline!

Our response

Thank you so much for your lovely feedback! Its great to hear that the service you received was of a high standard and I am also pleased that you loved the apartment, even though the steps are rather exhausting!

We hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the future.

review via Feefo.com

02 May 2015

Service:

Excellent company to deal with, always quick reply to e-mails, thanks to David who opend up for us - will deal with you again.

Product:

Lovely apartment, excellent location, had a really good time. The only comment is on the level of cleaning, Generally okay, corners of rooms very dusty, I had to move the bed to retrieve an item of jewellery, there was an old aerosol, a card and lots of dust. Sorry to nit-pick, it did not spoil our stay.

review via Feefo.com

13 Feb 2015

Service:

Very efficient

Product:

Perfect in every way

Our response

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am happy to hear that our service and the apartment were both of a high standard and we hope to welcome you back to Edinburgh in the future.

review via Feefo.com

05 Jan 2015

Service:

Very helpful and rearranged our stay without any hassle, more than happy to deal on the phone, will be using them again.

Product:

We had a great time, location spectacular next to the Castle we will stay again if coming to Edinburgh. Very helpful staff when we found ourselves trapped int he one way and road closed system prior to Hogmanay. We did find a few light bulbs were out in the sitting room and one of the bedrooms.

review via Feefo.com

28 Dec 2014

Service:

communications and service very good

Product:

all great apart from the toilet being tight squeeze and none of us were over 5'8" or over 11 stone!

review via Feefo.com

01 Nov 2014

Service:

Very professional from booking to checking out.

Product:

The location is amazing and the apartment has everything you could need for a few days' stay.

review via Feefo.com

31 Oct 2014

Service:

Eddie was very helpful and easy to deal with!

Product:

Beautiful, clean, and well kept apartment in excellent location, would definitely stay here again!

review via Feefo.com

25 Oct 2014

Service:

The service was good from the beginning to the end. Little problem such as the lights in the bed rooms went off, it was dealt with very quickly. Deposit for damage was returned promptly without fuss. The management was easily accessible.

Product:

The location is superb: one can almost touch the castle from the window. It is out of this world when you have a candle lit dinner, looking out to the illuminated castle. The facilities supplied by the management is adequate. The wall throughout can do with a new coat of paint. The off white cover on the sofa looked dirty, it rather spotted the look of the whole flat. We were rather happy staying there, will come back one day, but please change the sofa cover, or simply throw it away.

review via Feefo.com

02 Sep 2014

Service:

Good communication and we were met at the apartment

Product:

Fantastic apartment, fantastic location

review via Feefo.com