« Go back

Reviews of 18 Niddry Street South, Old Town, 170 metres from Royal Mile

independently rated: 78.6%The percentage of all customers leaving a review on Feefo.com who rated the product either 'good' or 'excellent' based on 14 user reviews of 18 Niddry Street South, Old Town, 170 metres from Royal Mile
13 Jun 2017

Service:

The only issue I had was that I was supposed to receive a full booking confirmation which I never did and then had to email and ask for it again as I had no details on how to enter the apartment.

Product:

The apartment itself was stunning and the location in relation to the Royal Mile was perfect. However, it is 2 doors away from a pub/nightclub which you can hear music from sometimes until 3/4 in the morning which isn't ideal. We also had underground tours which ended right outside our door so we would get woken up at midnight with people shouting outside the flat. If you are a fan of sleeping or lie ins, I wouldn't recommend this particular apartment. I also wouldn't recommend it to anyone with young children 1. Because of noise and 2. Because of the fetish nights that happen in the club at the bottom of the road. The plumbing in the flat is tempremental and makes the most awful noise when draining. We had an issue where waste sewage came up the downstairs toilet however the owner saw to it right away and the issue was sorted. The tv remote didn't work for the TV which isn't a huge deal, it just meant I had to download one to my phone or change it manually. Also, I feel the need to carry any rubbish/bin bags to the bottom of the other street is a bit strange. I don't understand why if there are people staying in the flat week in week out, why you are required to take bags of rubbish to another street. Why are there no bins to use in the same street? All in all we had a good time in the flat in relation to location and decor etc however couldn't sleep very easily and we were woken up every morning with the sound of bottles smashing in to a bin. Not to mention when the pub got deliveries they parked the lorry right at our door and we were unable to step out of the flat so thankfully there wasn't an emergency. This also was accompanied by the delivery drivers rolling kegs down the street and shouting and whistling to each other at 8am in the morning! Lovely flat flat, great location but terrible if you want to relax.

review via Feefo.com

31 Aug 2016

Service:

Excellent, once again.

Product:

Excellent location, great apartment.

review via Feefo.com

01 Feb 2016

Service:

everything went well!

Product:

great location, spacious, good tv! Unfortunately kitchen, bath and floor was not as tidy as expected.

review via Feefo.com

24 Aug 2015

Service:

I have used reserve apartments for 4 years and they have been totally reliable and always helpful.

Product:

Great apartment, excellent position for The Fringe.

review via Feefo.com

16 Aug 2015

Service:

Service fine.

Product:

The upstairs toilet did not flush very well, even though I think you sent someone to fix it after we notified you. Needs attention!
Also the lighting in the sitting area could have been better - a bit dark for what is a rather dark street. Otherwise fine.

review via Feefo.com

05 Aug 2015

Service:

the code for the lock wasn't the good one when we arrived at the apartment.

Product:

it's kind of noisy and old but very convenient location.

review via Feefo.com

22 Dec 2014

Service:

Good response and very nice apartments

Product:

There is mobile phone network... excellent if you looking for isolation...

review via Feefo.com

02 Nov 2014

Service:

Very easy to use.

Product:

Amazing apartment, could be warmer to make it excellent.

review via Feefo.com

10 Sep 2014

Service:

Booking was swift.

Product:

Apartment was not clean (eg. dust on bedroom headrest, hand rails and inside of drawers left a black colour when we wiped them before putting our clothes etc). Not to mention the sorry state of service closets and area behind beds etc which had heavy accumulated dust. No Tumble dryer present even though stated as included in apartment contents. Toilet had a consistent foul smell. Only one towel per person provided (with no tumble dryer this was far from sufficient as washing took two days to dry). One towel was stained. We called the contact numbers provided on booking as 'for any need' but one was picked up by the maintenance man who couldn't help us while other number had machine from which we got no reply. Though notice in apartment said that heating comes on with a timer, we never noticed this ever coming on. Some kitchen utensils in cupboard still had food stuck on them. Even though apartment boasts of complimentary milk to make some tea on arrival, milk was nowhere to be found (and we didn't dare use the teabags/sugar/coffee in the kitchen tins).

review via Feefo.com

20 Aug 2014

Service:

Excellent communication and reliability of booking and properties available.

Product:

Good space, well maintained, great access to venues at The Fringe or in Edinburgh on other occassions and excellent contact with owner if any slight problems.

review via Feefo.com

18 Aug 2014

Service:

The booking was a quick and easy process.

Product:

Upon arrival the apartment seemed ok apart from it being in need of some re decoration. However as the week progressed our enjoyment diminished. What was described as a quiet cobbled street on the website turned out to be the noisiest place we have stayed in Edinburgh. We were expecting some noise as it was during the festival season but close proximity to the Caves venue meant there were people outside the flat talking shouting and drinking until 3am on some occasions. We were supplied with 1 towel each for the whole week and when we asked for more it was 48 hours before we got any response. The basement bedroom smelt of damp and the advertised tumble dryer did not exist
So if you like your sleep and little luxuries try somewhere else.

review via Feefo.com

03 Jul 2013

Service:

No issues, good service.

Product:

Great location & lovely apartment. Would recommend.

review via Feefo.com

23 Jun 2013

Service:

We had some questions about the apartment and we used both email and chat in the website and all ours doubts were solutionated fastly. Excellent service.

Product:

A really nice apartment. In the nights, sometimes it's a litlle noisy because of the tours around the city which pass near the house, but it's only two minutes.
When we arrived the kitchen was a bit dirty (the rest of the apartment was really fine) so we sent an email to the owner and he sent a person to clean it. Everything perfect then.

review via Feefo.com

15 May 2013

Service:

Very good service. We were sent a very detailed email with the location and restaurants etc near by which was very useful.

Product:

The location was great and the apartment itself was of a very good size for the amount we paid.

The only downside was that it was quite noisy during the night.

review via Feefo.com