Overall
Approval
96%
out of2363total reviews ofwww.reserveapartments.co.uk

Reviews

 1  2   79  80  (2396 matches)  Next »

The Metropole Residence (Glasgow)

03 Dec 2021 09:12

Service

The communication with Thomas was great from the time that I booked through to when we left. The apartment was in a great central location and the living area was lovely and perfect for our needs.
We had a great weekend. Many thanks.

Product

Great value and great location

The Coates Gardens Residence

01 Dec 2021 04:12

Service

Provided excellent information and always prompt. Good communication links and offered immediate response with any issues.

Product

Very good value for money and brilliant when we were stuck for an extra night due to train cancellations

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our team were on hand to assist with any issues. We are also glad that we were able to help with arranging an extra night's stay for you! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Patriothall Residence

01 Dec 2021 06:12

Service

Excellent communication, ease of booking, lovely properties, competative prices. Definitely recommend.

Product

Home from home. Super location, car parking facilities. Apartment very comfortable. Shall be returning.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted you had such a comfortable stay and felt at home! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Quartermile Meadows View Residence

30 Nov 2021 09:11

Service

Everything worked.

Product

This is a beautiful apartment in a lovely neighborhood. I very much enjoyed my almost two months of staying there. It's an excellent choice and I recommend it highly. It is well located, close to many coffee shops, supermarkets and to the main train station. It is also has a stunning view of the Meadows. The host was also very welcoming and helpful.

The only problems were that the apartment could have been better insulated and the standard of cleaning was not high enough. The bin was grimy and gross. Some corners of the apartment were very dusty and unwelcoming. The dishwasher and the fridge were moldy. I had to let the dishwasher run before using it.

All in all, if cleaning would be improved, it would be 5+ stars!

The Blair Street Residence

19 Nov 2021 12:11

Service

excellent emplacement. bon equipements. tres propre. une equipe tres serviable qui nous a meme repondu un samedi en pleine nuit!!
seuls points négatifs le tapis tres allergisant dans la chambre, le couloir pas propre du tout (mais on ne dort pas dans le couloir)

Product

tres content de notre sejour dans cet appartement

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you made the most of the property's great location and that our colleagues were on hand to assist during your stay. Thank you for your comment on the allergenic carpet - we will pass this onto the Property Management team for their reference. We look forward to welcoming you back to Edinburgh again soon!

The Portsburgh Square Residence

18 Nov 2021 06:11

Service

Great communication from start to finish. Seamless easy check in and check out process

Product

Ideal location on edge of Grassmarket a stones throw from great pubs, shops, close to the bottom of Granny Green’s steps where you can view the castle from below and climb up to the castle and Royal Mile. Short walk to Greyfriars Kirkyard. No frills apartment, clean and comfortable stay, well lit at night, has all you need and is a great bolt hole to explore the great city of Edinburgh from. We arrived by train and walked everywhere the station was about 15 minutes walk. This was our first trip to Edinburgh, glad we found Reserve Apartments as we feel this was a reasonably priced stay especially on a weekend.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your first trip to Edinburgh and that our team were able to assist with any queries about your booking. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Traquair Park Residence

04 Nov 2021 06:11

Service

Verry good house.

Product

Very good house.Excelent service.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay - receiving 5*'s is always fantastic to see! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Hart Street Residence No. 1

27 Oct 2021 07:10

Service

Having not used Reserve Apartments before I was a little bit nervous as what to expect, I shouldn't have been, Our apartment was excellently located, bright, clean and kitted out with all the things that you could need for a week away. I look forward to returning again soon.

Product

Great apartment in a great location

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and found everything you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Corstorphine Residence No. 1

27 Oct 2021 07:10

Service

Disappointing. Compensation seems unfairly calculated considering the amount of issues we had with the property.

My advice is not to advertise a property as having - WiFi, a TV, radio, DVD player and CD player when you don’t have any of those things. There is a TV that doesn’t work.

The en-suite drain is blocked making the shower unusable, there needs to be information on heating the water as there wasn’t enough for 3 adults to shower.
Please clean properly - especially when telling guests the previous guest has suspected COVID.

Please ensure there are no broken glasses in the cupboards.

Please upgrade the shower heads.

Please provide at least the very basics ie toilet roll, washing up liquid, bin bags, spray cleaner. We couldn’t clean what the cleaner didn’t and felt unsettled our entire stay

Product

I was disappointed to arrive at check in for the Corstorphine Residence to there being no keys in the lock box, and left standing outside the property until 430pm trying to contact Reserve Apartments and the emergency on call person to no avail. Eventually, I was let in by the cleaner who explained the last guest had suspected Covid and they were doing a deep clean but this couldn’t have been further from the truth. “Grimy”. I awkwardly sat in one of the rooms while the cleaner continued preparing the property for me, thus making me late for my evening plans.

There was a cupboard full of crumbs, chipped glasses, a grill pan thick with grease, crumbs and dirt under the sofa (which you could see as soon as you walked into the room), blocked drains making the en suite shower room unusable, useless shower heads that don’t stay in position, not enough hot water for 3 people, and a faint smell of cigarette smoke (the skirting and door frames are nicotine yellow). There is NO WIFI despite what the listing says and the owner said there won’t be WIFI either. The TV doesn’t work, and there’s no radio and CD player (despite what the listing says).

I had a very frustrating and disappointing stay, and was compensated only £30 out of the £220.80 I spent to stay there.

Our response

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are sorry to hear of the issues encountered during your stay and thank you for bringing them to our attention. We have escalated your concerns to the director of the cleaning company and will be asking them to address these areas moving forward. We have looked at the TV and confirm it does work - the aerial had unfortunately been unplugged before your arrival. We have also updated the property listing to reflect the correct items that are at the property and have also now unblocked the shower. Please note the refund for the issues encountered has been calculated according to the price paid per person per night and according to the expenses the owner incurs for running the property - this includes cleaning, linen and bills. We hope, despite these issues, that you enjoyed your time in Edinburgh

The Drummond Street Residence

26 Oct 2021 03:10

Service

Reserve apartments was great easy booking service.

Product

Location was great and apartment was good size for myself for a months stay. Hot water wasn’t good, even after getting instructions to get hot water working it still wasn’t very hot even after waiting over an hour to heat up. The oven wasn’t working but a small counter oven was provided but could only use oven or hob not both at the same time and was very small. I was told an engineer would be coming out to fix the oven but then heard nothing else and no one came to fix. The apartment is at the back of the property right next to a car park which means it’s quite noisy with cars going up and down the ramp, lights beaming into the bedroom, perhaps black out curtains/blind would be a good idea.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are glad you found our booking process to be easy and made the most of the property's great location. Thank you for letting us know about the issues encountered during your stay. Please note the hot water system at the property uses a tank which does take a while to heat - the temperature of this has also been turned down following a recent legionella test which showed a high risk of scalding. We can also assure you that the Property Management team has been working hard to find someone to fix the oven and in the meantime has placed a temporary oven in the property for guests' use - an engineer is now being arranged and we apologise that this wasn't done in time for you to benefit from during your stay. Thank you for letting us know where the property can be improved - we will pass this onto the Property Manager for their consideration. We hope to welcome you back again soon!

The York Place Residence

17 Oct 2021 07:10

Service

Spotless, spacious apartment. Great service and communication. Charming and very helpful staff. Would highly recommend!

Product

Fantastic central location. All bedrooms en-suite with additional out door space. Public car park right across the road.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great stay at this well located property and that our team were on hand to assist. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

St Giles St, on Royal Mile, 200 metres from Edinburgh Castle

11 Oct 2021 06:10

Service

From the check- in to my departure , I was given the most excellent service. My request for early check-in was graciously granted, the meet and greet staff were very warm and helpful and I will definitely be recommending them to people and will be staying at property again. The return of damage deposit was prompt. The whole process was very professional and cordial.

Product

Excellent service. Warm and kind staff. My every request was accommodated. I was pleasantly surprised by the reception. My stay was like home away from home. I love the traditional charm of the property . I loved every moment of my stay there.

The Holyrood Park Residence

10 Oct 2021 09:10

Service

Great service and would recommend

Product

Fabulous situation with Edinburgh’s amenities on the doorstep

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great stay and made the most of the property's great location. Receiving 5*'s is always fantastic to see! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Coates Gardens Residence

03 Oct 2021 03:10

Service

Very easy and straightforward service.

Product

Spacious, beautiful, very confortable apartment, close to everything you need.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had a comfortable stay and made the most of the property's great location - receiving 5*'s is always fantastic to see! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The South Charlotte Residence

05 Sep 2021 07:09

Service

I stayed in this apartment last year and was pleased with it so booked it again. Unfortunately this time the apartment was grubby and very tired with lots of general maintenance needed. I appreciate that the pandemic has been hard on this industry but when charging these prices you need to keep up with basic maintenance. Excellent size and location.

Product

Did contact the caretaker on Whatsapp during stay and although it was read I did not get a response.

Our response

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are glad that you find the apartment to be a good size and well located. We are sorry to hear of your concerns with the maintenance of the property - most of these have now been dealt with and the remaining items are being worked on as we move into the quieter season. The Property Manager has confirmed that he received your WhatsApp message and noted the points raised - he apologises for not having responded at the time to acknowledge receipt of the message. We hope despite these issues you enjoyed your trip to Edinburgh and hope to welcome you back to Reserve Apartments again soon

The South Charlotte Residence

30 Aug 2021 09:08

Service

It was very good that Reserve Apartments survived the last 18 months, tough times for all. They did not operate a refundable deposit scheme or allow people to roll their deposits forward to the next year (we lost ours last year with them) despite that we booked again with them this year as the apartment was one of the few of the right size in the best location. Also this policy probably allowed them to survive the last year.
David was a bit sparse in his communication, but Natalie was extremely responsive to our every question and need and we only had to mention something was missing or not working and it was replaced or fixed within hours.

Product

As one would expect the apartment was not as bright and colourful as in the photographs. Some of the furniture shown in the pictures was missing.
The Apartment was clean and very comfortable, but there were food splashes up the walls in the kitchen which could have been cleaned off before we got there. Also coffee stains on the walls in the hall, not Reserves fault but a bit more attention to detail would be good.
The curtains in the main room were partly hanging off the rails.
None of the extractor fans worked in the bathrooms when we arrived but Reserve were getting those fixed as soon as we told them.
This is not a cheap apartment but having checked this is the price you have to pay for four double bedrooms in the centre of Edinburgh during the Fringe, and the location is excellent, very central and just off the really noisy parts of the city.
If we wanted to do this again we would probably booked this apartment again.

Our response

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that our Property Management team was on hand to assist with any issues that arose. After continuously reviewing our policies throughout the pandemic we are now offering date changes or vouchers for bookings where we are unable to legally accommodate guests on their check-in date due to government restrictions. Thank you again for staying with Reserve Apartments - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The David Hume Residence (Edinburgh)

27 Aug 2021 07:08

Service

MoroccanDelight.com
we stayed there great place well worth it.
very central

Product

MoroccanDelight.com
Great place loved it will stay again

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great stay - receiving 5 stars is always fantastic to see! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Findlay Gardens Residence

26 Aug 2021 07:08

Service

Lovely, clean, top-class accommodation at a good price. Would recommend!

Product

Lovely, clean and top-class accommodation at a good price. Very helpful hosts. Would recommend!

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great stay and enjoyed meeting the hosts - receiving 5 stars is always fantastic to see! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Corstorphine Residence No. 1

23 Aug 2021 11:08

Service

Pros
1.Very good location
2.Safe to leave windows on latch
3.Spacious apartment
4.Well furnished
5.No issues finding a parking space
6.Relatively quiet
7.Will stay there again
Cons
1.Use 15/2 when trying to locate the apartment, not Corstorphine Residence No.: 1
2.No designated parking space as stated
3.Hall lighting when approaching the apartment not adequate
4.No Wi-Fi
5.No hair dryer
6.13-minute drying time on the washer dryer not adequate
7.Slight underlying smell of cigarette smoke on the soft furnishings and towels
8.Supports for the shower heads do not work
9.No recycle options for the rubbish
10.Hob knobs do not always latch on

Product

refer to previous comment

Our response

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at this spacious apartment and made the most of the good location. Thank you too for letting us know where we can improve our service. We have already updated the listing and guest information to reflect the relevant points and will pass the other items mentioned to the Property Owner for their consideration. We are in the process of changing WiFi provider and hope that this will be resolved soon - once it is we will update the property listing to reflect this. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Cruickshank Residence

23 Aug 2021 08:08

Service

Excellent service, great apartment

Product

Brilliant location, superb flat and really helpful host

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great stay and that our Property Manager was on hand. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The York Place Residence

23 Aug 2021 07:08

Service

The apartment was superb ....ones of the best we have stayed in during our 25 years of visiting Edinburgh for the Fringe. Eddie was always available and really helpful .

Product

Again superb....not much more you can say

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and were able to visit Edinburgh for the Fringe again this year. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The West End Residence

10 Aug 2021 01:08

Service

They are very helpful and excellent service always responds very quickly. Has all the amenities and great for family

Product

I feel your paying for the location as its central and modern appartment

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great stay and found everything you needed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Hart Street Residence No.2

08 Aug 2021 03:08

Service

Excellent service, excellent apartment, very clean, would definitely stay again, quiet location.

Product

Very clean spacious apartment, the only thing is I would have preferred a double bed instead of two singles bed in the main bedroom.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great stay - receiving 5*'s is always fantastic to see! While the en-suite bedroom has twin beds, the second bedroom does have a double bed. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Holyrood Park Residence

18 Jul 2021 08:07

Service

Well organised and helpful

Product

Great apartment , good location and amazing views

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you had such a great stay and enjoyed the wonderful views from the property! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Holyrood Park Residence

19 Jun 2021 09:06

Service

Really easy to book. Apartment could do with a little more care. Side lamps in bedroom. Baking tray would be useful. Wardrobes need some attention. Saying all of that love staying at this apartment. My third time.

Product

Five stars because of View.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. It is great to hear of returning customers and receiving 5*'s is always great to see! Thank you for your comments on where the apartment can be improved - we will pass these onto the Property Manager for their consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Holyrood Road Residence

16 Jun 2021 03:06

Service

carol was very good and effiieant .Karen was difficult to contact .When we arrived in the car park we were met by a gentleman who showed us how the locking system works if it had not been for him we would have not known of the system. There should always a person to greet the customer i think he was the cleaning man as he checked if we had toilet rolls.i was shocked to find in the appartmemt no teapot or cups and saucers only builders pot mugs i have stayed lots of apartments but always had a teapot and cup and saucers something to rectify.it was a lovely apartment and we would stay again if a meet and greet was in place perfect location

Product

good location very comfortable apartment bot no teapot or cups and saucers only builders pot mugs it let the apartment down

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay and found the apartment to be comfortable. Please note that in normal circumstances we would provide a meet and greet service for this property, however due to the global pandemic we are currently asking guests to collect their keys from the building's concierge in order to reduce contact as much as possible. The concierge is able to assist with the check-in and for any other issues or queries we always provide our guests with the contact details for their dedicated Property Manager. Thank you for your comments on where we can make improvements at the property - we will pass your comments onto the Property Manager for their consideration. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Holyrood Park Residence

09 Jun 2021 07:06

Service

The service I received from reserve apartments was excellent. We had a last minute cancellation on the original booking. Carol was absolutely brilliant and found us a replacement within the day, she was very reliable and a pleasure to deal with.

Product

A lovely modern apartment very well situated and well equipped. The owner Karen was friendly and very helpful nothing was too much trouble.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to assist in finding a replacement property for you. We are also glad that you found everything you needed and made the most of the property's great location! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

The Findlay Gardens Residence

10 May 2021 09:05

Service

We loved our stay.. The property was clean and nice.

Product

Great price for this amazing property.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the property - we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

The Waverley Park Residence No. 2

06 May 2021 12:05

Service

Great communication throughout the stay, easy booking process with clear instructions. I was treated in good time in a friendly manner.

Product

Exceptionally well decorated and comfortable apartment, it’s easy to settle in and feel right at home. Brilliant location to explore Edinburgh, close enough to easily enjoy the area whilst conveniently out of the hustle and bustle. The apartment has every modern commodity you could ask for but still retains its charming aesthetic.

Our response

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave feedback. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and felt at home in the apartment. It's great to hear that you were able to explore Edinburgh during your time with us! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon

 1  2   79  80  (2396 matches)  Next »
Reserve Apartments logo

By booking through the Reserve Apartments website you can enjoy exclusive benefits such as:

  • Flexible Check In and Out
  • Best Rate Guaranteed For Reserve Collection Properties
  • Free Wifi

 

Find a place to stay