The Great King Street Residence

independently rated: 50%The percentage of all customers leaving a review on who rated the product either 'good' or 'excellent' based on 4 user reviews of The Great King Street Residence
Go to reviews
  • Property ID34750
  • Sleeps 4 (+2)
  • Bedrooms 2
  • Bathroom(s) 1
  • Floor 1st floor

Sitting proudly in the heart of the New Town, this luxurious two bedroom property welcomes you to become a part of Edinburgh's lesser mentioned regal past. Walk the surprisingly smooth cobbled streets to your local gallery or artisan bakery; take in the grandeur of the Georgian and Neo-Classical architecture; or stroll to your nearest leafy garden. But don't worry, if you find yourself craving castles and medieval streets, the dark history of the Old Town is only a 15 minute walk or short bus journey away.

The Great King Street Apartment is a wonderful, spacious, first floor property prepared to pamper up to four guests in two double bedrooms. Both bedrooms have fitted wardrobes and oodles of comfort, and are lovingly decorated with unique furnishings. The family bathroom is short but sweet, with a crisp white three piece suite, and a thermostatic power shower over bath that will knock your socks off.

Impressive windows bathe the drawing room in lashings of light, bringing to life the original features, cornice detailing and feature fireplace. Handpicked furniture completes this living area, affirming the homely yet stylish vibe. If you can take your eyes away from the decor, then your entertainment needs are also met with Freeview television.

Stately sliding doors lead in to the dining area and kitchen, which both come well equipped to allow the indulgence to continue. The generous dining table vies for attention with yet another feature fireplace, and traditional sanded floorboards. The fully fitted kitchen has everything you need to make this a real home from home, with a coffee maker, dishwasher, washing machine, fridge freezer and tumble dryer.

The local vicinity is awash with boutique stores, artisan cafes, gastro bars, restaurants and art galleries.

Sleeping arrangements Both the master and second bedroom have double beds
The living room has a double sofa bed which can accommodate two additional guests if required

Exterior Traditional, double-fronted Georgian tenement building on a grand cobbled street.

Parking Metered on street parking is available on the next street from the apartment.

  • General facilities

    • Dishwasher Yes
    • Linen provided Yes
    • Bath towels provided Yes
    • Tumble drier Yes
    • Washing machine Yes
    • Microwave Yes
    • Fridge/freezer Yes
    • Oven Yes
    • Iron / ironing Board Yes
  • Entertainment

    • DVD player Yes
    • TV Yes
  • Internet access

    • Internet access Yes
  • Suitability

    • Pets not allowed Yes

Interior layout The main living area consists of a large drawing room, flowing through to the open plan dining area and kitchen. The property has one family bathroom, and two double bedrooms.


Check-in from16:00

You will be asked to check-out before11:00

The Great King Street Residence location

Postal code



  • Golf
  • Swimming (Indoor)
  • Gym
  • Shops
  • Bar / Pub
  • Restaurants
  • Café
  • Car hire
  • Galleries
  • Internet Café
  • Museum
  • Nightclub
  • Theatre
  • Express Super Market
  • Parking

Locale The local vicinity is awash with boutique stores, artisan cafes, gastro bars, restaurants and art galleries. The apartment is ideally suited to a professional couple or family.

The Great King Street Residence reviews

independently rated: 50%The percentage of all customers leaving a review on who rated the product either 'good' or 'excellent' based on 4 user reviews of The Great King Street Residence
29 Aug 2014


I thought everything


I find this difficult The apartment was lovely and linen perfect However the crockery supplied and cutlery were a disgrace 3 people could not have set a half decent table let alone 6 although there were enough kitchen knives to cater for 1 or 2 butchers. Nor was there any instructions hot water poor couldn't have any heating and the cooker didn't work My son found the trip switch I would not have done so

review via

06 Jun 2014


When there was no warm water, the house manager didnt call a plumber, becouse when he checked it, it was working. So it happened a few times, that i took a shower, and there was just cold water. After asking a few times the house manager i was writing to reserve apartments, but didnt get any answer.


The apartment is huge, in a good distance to the center. The view in the backyard is very nice, and the beds are very comfartable. But the apartment needs a proper cleaning once in a while. The lights are quite bad, it's difficult to read something at the dining table. The internet is only working half time. I stayed 2 weeks in the apartment and besides this neagtive things i enjoyed being there.

Our response

Thank you for your feedback. I'm pleased you loved the apartment and had a great stay at Great King Street. I've spoken with the property manager who assures me that all is well with the hot water and WiFi.

I've checked back and can't find any communication from you regarding the issues you have raised, and so I am sorry that we were not able to help. Please feel free to contact me if you still want to discuss any of this.

All the best - Emma

review via

19 Feb 2014


As I was booking last minute, Emma dealt with our booking enquiry promptly and very efficiently.


Although the apartment was in a great location, some of the equipment within the apartment was poor. When we were shown round the apartment there was a bundle of towels on the floor pushed up against the freezer door as it was not working and would leak water. I could write a list but there is not enough space.

Our response

Many thanks for taking the time to leave feedback. I'm sorry to hear some of the facilities in the apartment let you down. I've passed your comments on to the property manager and asked them to look in to this right away. Please feel free to give us a call or email to discuss the other points you have not included, as I would like to get these rectified as soon as possible.

I hope you had a lovely stay in Edinburgh, and will return again soon.

review via

Read all reviews

The Great King Street Residence enquiries

Enter the text from the above image

The Great King Street Residence availability & booking


Checking availability....